Didn’t do much today except make dinner

…and it was from left overs.  Yea, it was a low energy day, but dinner turned out great.  I figured since many people do ham on or around Easter, there is usually a lot left in the fridge.  And really, one can only take so many ham sandwiches before you want to throw the whole thing out the door.

I know some people who hate to read a blog just to get to the recipes, so I am just going to list it up here first.

2 big/3 regular servings:

2 cups cooked ham, cubed

2 cups cooked green beans, cut into about 1 inch pieces

1/2-1 tsp seasoning (garlic/herb blends are nice, or a salt/pepper/onion powder/garlic powder would work well too) to taste

1 cup finely shredded parmesan cheese (fresh tastes so much better than the green can)

1 tsp butter or oil

onepot

This was a super simple toss together in one pan and you are good to go kind of a meal, with only 4 ingredients.  How can you beat that?  So I have these darling friends who stopped by with a big old chunk of ham leftover from their family get together over the weekend.  It was really good, but I have this thing.  I hate, hate, hate eating the same thing meal after meal.  This girl needs variety, my guy…not so much.  Anyway, so here I am with this lovely hunk-o-ham, some green beans left over from last nights pot roast, and an empty belly.

beans

The green beans where whole, so I gave them a quick chop.  Used a micro-plainer to make a big fluffy pile of grated parmesan, and cubed up the ham real quick.

saycheese

I am currently without a stove/oven, but I have an awesome little tabletop infrared oven doodad.  (It is one of those as seen on tv sort of deals, but I couldn’t live without this thing.)  I plopped the ham in a stoneware dish with a touch of butter and cooked it on high for about 5 minutes until it got a little bit brown (for stovetop just place in a skillet and saute until a little brown) added the green beans, bout a tsp of garlic & herb seasoning (I used Weber brand and it is pretty tasty if not a little salty.)  Add the cheese, stir well and cook another 5-10 minutes until all if nice and hot.  Serve with an extra bit of cheese on top if you like.

dindin
See?  Super simple, all done in one pan and it helps to clear out the fridge of leftovers.  A win in my book.

2 thoughts on “Didn’t do much today except make dinner

Leave a Reply

