Start small – Chalkboard paint

I wanted to start with a small project.  Also, I am a bit on the broke side.  I am currently smack in the middle of starting a new business and that has me pretty strapped for cash these days.  That being said, I do need to step away from the business stuff and do something for me every now and then.  Today, I thought I would do just that.

Todays project: This whole chalkboard paint thing.

This has got to be one of the simplest projects I have ever done, pin or no pin.  If you are looking for something little, easy, and way cheap, this just may be the project for you.

Materials needed are minimal.  The instructions are pretty straight forward.  I am thinking I can handle this, so let’s see.  Shall we?

Gather supplies and get ready!

You need: 2 tablespoons unsanded grout (had some on hand from a locally owned hardware store)

1 cup paint – any color you please (I grabbed a 7.2 oz sample size of paint from the same hardware store ages ago and never used them for what I had in mind.)

Something to stir with

Container to mix it in (I am just going to use the container the paint came in)

Something to paint

If you are anything like me, you will want to get your painting clothes on and pull your hair back because no matter how hard you try, you just get paint everywhere.

Once you have all of your stuff together, here is the tricky part.  You pour the grout power into the paint and mix it pretty well.  Real tricky, right? The paint looks a bit dry – but not to worry.  It came out great.

Just remember to stir it up every now and then while you paint.

Next you want to paint a thin layer over your item.  From what I have read, you want to paint on a clean surface, and paint in a different direction with each coat.  I used this glass platter that I got from a yard sale.  I think it was marked 25 cents, so I treated it as my test subject.  I also didn’t clean it before I started.  I painted top to bottom for the first coat and left to right for the second.  The paint looks a little lumpy when you start but it smoothed out as it sat.  It was like the grout power dissolved in the paint in between coats.  I can be a bit impatient from time to time, so I went around grabbing other things to paint while I was waiting for my platter to dry.  I painted the sides of some drawers, these glasses, and a few other trinkets I found laying around.

The glass platter and drinking glass both took the paint just fine.

Once the paint has dried overnight you are supposed to sand it, but I didn’t really feel like it, so I skipped that step.  I did prep the paint though.  That is, when you color the whole surface with chalk to keep the ghosting from happening where you can see everything that was every written on it.  Yea, I hate that.  So I coated the surface and now, for the test.

Rub a bit of chalk over the entire painted surface to avoid ghosting.

I think it turned out pretty well.  What do you think?

As you can see, the paint worked well on the wood surface of this drawer too.

As I have said before, I am working on starting a new business so all of my spare change goes to that.  This means I am going to be doing pretty inexpensive projects, at least for a while.  Since I used only things I already had around the house, this project cost me nothing.  If you were to go out and buy all of the supplies then you can figure on the following costs.

Unsanded grout – about 10 bucks for a HUGE bag that will lasts you for gallons and gallons of this chalkboard mix.

Paint – if you stick to samples or Oops cans from the store, then 5 to 10 dollars.

For items to paint – well this is where you imagination gets to run wild.  I haven’t yet tried this paint on plastic so I don’t know how well it will take to that, but for glass and wood I have had no troubles.  A favorite place of mine to get cool stuff on the cheap is IKEA.  The Rast line is decent unfinished wood that you can make into just about anything. (Check out Ikea Hackers and search for Rast for inspiration.)

So if you much buy paint, grout and even a rast nightstand to try it out on we are talking 30-35 bucks.  Not too shabby, eh?

Going to have to call this one:  Nailed It!  I love the way it turned out, plus the green is my favorite color.

Leave a Reply

